What state was the snowboard officially invented?

Sherman Poppen is known as the grandfather of snowboarding. He was the inventor of the Snurfer, which was a precursor to snowboarding. He was living in Michigan at the time. Jake Burton Carpenter, from Vermont, was the first person to add straps to the board to keep your feet in place.