Why is the snooze button nine minutes?

Alarm clocks did exist before the snooze function, so there was already a standard gear setup that innovators had to work with. Getting the gear teeth to line up to allow for exactly ten minutes wasn’t possible, so they choose between nine minutes and a few seconds or a bit over ten minutes.