How many feet do you stand away from a dartboard?

There are different standards for steel-tipped and plastic-tipped darts when it comes to the throwing distance. The first is 7 feet, 9 and ¼ inches (or 2.37 meters) away from the surface of the dartboard. While for plastic-tipped darts, you need to be an even 8 feet (or 2.4384 meters) away.

---

It depends on the type of dart. For Steel Tip: 7 feet 9 1/4 inches from the front of the board, for Soft Tip: 8 feet 0 inches.