Where do beta fish live?

In the wild, bettas live in Asia, where their homes are the shallow waters of rice paddies, ponds, or slow-moving streams. Since those waters aren't deep, they stay warm, which is why bettas who live in human homes need at least 10 gallons of water in an aquarium