Are there any asteroids?

Yes. There are large numbers of asteroids, ranging in size from nearly 600 miles across, to dust particles, especially between the orbits of Mars and Jupiter, though some have more eccentric orbits, and a few pass close to the earth or enter the atmosphere as meteors.