How dangerous is a tsunami?

Tsunamis can be lethally dangerous, or only mildly so. It all depends upon their size, and the type of shoreline they wash onto. Very big tsunamis have killed several hundred thousands of people and millions of animals. Small tsunamis have occurred often with no deaths and only minor injuries.