Is beth harmon a real chess player?

The character, played by Anya Taylor-Joy, was created by Tevis for his book, and there weren’t many world-famous female players in the spotlight at the time to inspire him. The Hungarian chess champion Judit Polgár could have done the trick, but she didn’t become a Grandmaster until 1991.

---

No! Beth Harmon is a fictional character.