Why did people go on the oregon trail?

The 2,200-mile east-west trail served as a critical transportation route for emigrants traveling from Missouri to Oregon and other points west during the mid-1800s. The biggest factor that pulled pioneers west was the opportunity to buy land and seek a better life.