Did kris kristofferson go to west point?

According to Military.com Kris Kristofferson did not attend West Point as a student. He did join the Army becoming a helicopter pilot in the Army Air Corps. and attaining the rank of Captain. He was offered a teaching position in Literature at West Point, but turned it down.