What is the meaning of dark winter?

“Dark Winter” is the code name for a senior-level bio-terrorist attack simulation conducted in May 2001, designed to carry out a mock version of a covert and widespread smallpox attack on the US. It demonstrated 'serious weaknesses' in the public health system and ability to respond to such attack