How do you know when a pomegranate is ready?

Pomegranates are ripe when the fruit has a bright-red to crimson color all over, and a rough, rind-like leathery texture. Ripe pomegranates are heavy compared with size because it's full of juice. When the skin starts to split, Farmers will start harvesting this juicy delicious fruit.