When is the letter y. used as a vowel?

Most y's at the end of a word are vowels, as in fly, happy, and quickly. Some y's in the middle of a word are clearly vowels, ans in the words cyst, rhythm, and tryst. There are words where y appears at the beginning of the word where it's obviously a vowel, such as the element yttrium.