What is the sofia?

SOFIA is a joint project of NASA and the German Space Agency at DLR, consisting of an extensively modified Boeing 747SP aircraft carrying a 2.7-meter (106 inch) reflecting telescope (with an effective diameter of 2.5 meters or 100 inches)