Do ants have backbones?

Ants do not have bones like humans or vertebrates. Instead, they have an exoskeleton made of chitin that holds everything in place.

---

Ants do not have bones like humans or vertebrates. Instead, they have an exoskeleton that holds everything in place. Ants, and all other invertebrates, don't have bones or a backbone. Instead, they have a hard outer shell made out of chitin.