When were dresses made?

In the early 19th century, dresses started out being lightweight & on more of simple side. However, in the 1830's styles developed into oversized silhouettes & puffy sleeves and by mid 19th century, dress frames were made of whalebone or steel wire which were called crinolines under their skirts.