What is the legend of the gordian knot?

Alexander the Great saw an intricate knot tied by a man named Gordius. It was said that whoever untied the Gordian knot was destined to be the future conqueror of Asia. Alexander simply took his sword and cut through the knot. "Cutting the Gordian knot" means taking bold action to solve a problem.