Where did boom shakalaka come from?

Years before the creative minds who brought you NBA Jam added the famous sound byte to their game, Sly and the Family Stone, a funk band from the 60s crooned out the famous explosion (boom!) and ensuing concussion (shakalaka) in their hit song "I Want To Take You Higher."