Is hydrogen and oxygen ionic?

Ionic bonds usually occur between metal and nonmetal ions. In water each hydrogen (H) and oxygen (O) share a pair of electrons to make a molecule of two hydrogen atoms single bonded to a single oxygen atom. In general, ionic bonds occur between elements that are far apart on the periodic table.