What is scranton pennsylvania famous for?

Scranton is known as "Electric City" and began to earn that name when electric lights were introduced in 1880 at Dickson Locomotive Works. It is also known for its coal mining.

---

In popular culture, Scranton is the location of the fictional company Dunder Mifflin where the show The Office takes place. Historically, Scranton was the largest coal mining town in the region, and was also known for steel and railroads.