What are the different kinds of eclipses?

A lunar eclipse is when the shadow of the earth falls on the moon, temporarily blacking it out. A solar eclipse is when the moon comes between the earth and the sun, causing a large shadow that seems to nearly blacken out the sun. Both eclipses can be total or partial.