What do moths and butterflies eat?

Moths mainly eat many types of natural fibers such as wool, silk, and cotton often found in clothes, drapes, and carpets. Butterfly larvae (caterpillars) eat leaves and seeds, while adult butterflies generally eat nectar and tree sap.