What is the story of the nutcracker?

On Christmas Eve, a little girl named Marie falls asleep after a party at her home and dreams herself into a fantastic world where toys become larger than life. Her beloved Nutcracker comes to life and defends her from the Mouse King, then is turned into a Prince after Marie saves his life.