What is the origin of the san francisco forty niners name?

The Forty-Niners were the people who went to California in 1849 to make money from gold mining.

---

The name "49ers" refers to the moniker used for the hundreds of thousands of people who left everything and raced across the US to California starting in 1849 after gold was discovered at Sutters Mill in the Sierra Mountains. It was one of the largest and earliest gold rushes in US history.