Why is the water hot?

If the water is hot, it has been exposed to some kind of heat source. Naturally hot water is typically heated by geothermal phenomenon, while hot water in buildings is heated via water heaters that are powered by electricity or gas. Water that is heated beyond its boiling point becomes water vapor.