Who get sickle cell anemia?

Sickle cell anemia is a serious hereditary disease of the blood cells. In the U.S., it is most common among African-Americans and Hispanics of Caribbean ancestry. The condition cannot be cured, but treatments exist to help the pain and slow the death rate.