Who is the song american pie written about?

The song opens with the death of Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens, and the Big Bopper in a plane crash "the day the music died." Other references are Elvis Presley ("the king") and Bob Dylan ("the jester"), and the death of Meredith Hunter at the Altamont Free Concert ten years after the plane crash.