What's the difference between a sponge cake and a regular cake?

The difference for a sponge cake from regular is that sponge cakes contain no, or very little fat. A traditional sponge cake has just three ingredients: flour, sugar, and eggs. Regular cakes contain added fat such as butter, oil, shortening and baking soda.