How did reindeer get their name?

Reindeer is the European name for the species while in North America, the species is known as Caribou." The word rein is of Norse origin. ... The word caribou comes through French, from the Mi'kmaq qalipu, meaning "snow shoveler" and referring to its habit of pawing through the snow for food.