How is playdough made?

Combine 1 cup water, 1 tablespoon vegetable oil, a half cup of salt, 1 tablespoon cream of tartar, and some food coloring in a saucepan and heat until warm. Remove from heat and add 1 cup flour. Stir, then knead until smooth. Store the dough in an airtight container or a freezer bag.