Why did constantinople get the works?

no you can not go back, Been a long time gone. It might not be anyone's business but the Turks, What prompted the name change to Istanbul. Istanbul is a 1953 novelty song with lyrics by Jimmy Kennedy and music by Nat Simon. It was written on the 500th anniversary of the fall of Constantinople

---

That's no body's business but the Turks. More seriously after the Islamic Ottoman empire conquered it they changed the name.