What is elemental zinc?

Zinc is a chemical element. It's symbol is Zn and atomic number 30. Zinc is a slightly brittle metal at room temperature with a silvery-greyish appearance when oxidation is removed. It is the first element in group 12 of the periodic table. Zinc is the 24th most abundant element in Earth's crust.