What are red pistachios?

There are no natural red pistachios. Due to antiquated harvesting methods, nut shells were often left with ugly stains and splotches. Foreign pistachio producers dyed the pistachios with a bright red color in an effort to hide the stains and make the nuts more appealing to consumers.

---

Before the 1970s, imported pistachios were dyed red to cover stains due to traditional harvesting methods. Today, most pistachios sold in the U.S. are grown in California where mechanized harvesting allows the nuts to be picked, hulled and dried before the shell has a chance to become stained.