Do brussel sprouts grow in the ground?

Brussels sprouts are tiny, knob-shaped members of the cole crop family, which includes other veggies like cabbage, broccoli, kohlrabi, turnips, and kale. They grow in the ground and ripen on thick stalks with large, leafy green leaves.