Who has been called the shakespeare of science fiction?

H.G. Wells was once referred to as 'the Shakespeare of Science Fiction.' He is more often called 'the father of Science Fiction' and regarded, along with Jules Verne, as one of the creators of the genre

---

H. G. Wells has been called “the Shakespeare of science fiction.” One of his most popular works is 1898’s “The War of the Worlds”.