How do spiders make silk?

Spiders have silk-producing glands in their bodies, in their abdomen. In these glands they have the chemical components already put together to produce silk, but it's in a liquid form. When a spider wants to produce a strand of solid silk, they have to pull this strand of silk out of their bodies.