Are peanuts beans?

Peanuts are legumes, which are edible seeds enclosed in pods, and are in the same family as beans, lentils, and peas. Meanwhile, tree nuts, which include but are not limited to, walnuts, cashews, almonds, and pecans, are all produced on trees.