Is cashew a legume?

Though thought of as a nut, cashews are actually seeds. The fruit that the seeds come from, called the cashew apple ("apple" being an old generic term for "fruit"), is also edible.

---

because cashews develop in a hard shell within a drupe instead of a pod, they aren't considered part of the legume family. Cashews are structurally similar to legumes like peanuts. Yet, due to the way they grow, they're not considered part of the legume family.