Is m. i. t. a word?

No. M.I.T. is an acronym for a variety of things. A few that it could stand for are Massachusetts Institute of Technology, or Military Information Technology, or Missionary in Training.

---

The letters M-I-T are usually seen as an abbreviation for Massachusetts Institute of Technology, or the German word "mit," meaning "with." However, Mirriam-Webster also recognizes it as an alternate spelling of "mitt," normally spelled M-I-T-T; or as an obscure synonym of the word, "send."