Where is lake gitchigumi?

Gichigami or Gitche Gumee (from Longfellow's 'The Song of Hiawatha) means 'big water'. The lake was named le lac supérieur, or "Upper Lake," in the 17th century by French explorers because it was located above Lake Huron.

---

Lake Gitchegumee is a literary reference or nickname for Lake Superior and it is located in Michigan