What instruments are in the percussion family?

Roughly 12 in an orchestra, but a percussion instrument is one that is beaten or scraped to make a sound. A piano is a percussion instrument as is a drum.

---

The percussion family is believed to include the oldest musical instruments, following the human voice. The percussion section of an orchestra most commonly contains instruments such as the timpani, snare drum, bass drum, cymbals, triangle and tambourine.