Is tennessee considered the midwest?

No. According to The United States Census Bureau, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota,Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin are the 12 States that make up The Mid-West.