What's the difference between showers and rain?

Showers are intermittent and rain is a constant downpour.

---

Showers, also known as rain showers, have a shorter duration than rain. They tend to be quick and come in bursts. Showers come from puffy clouds or cumuliform clouds, like cumulus or cumulonimbus. ... Compared to rain, showers cover a smaller area but can be more intense.