What is the range of a fireball?

"Fire Ball" retains its 24" range from Chainmail, but now has a slightly larger radius of 2" (i.e. 4" diameter). All ranges in OD&D were measured in inches as a hold-over from miniature wargaming rules. Fire Ball deals 1d6 damage per character level of the caster.