What is yon kipper?

Yom Kippur is the highest holy day of the Jewish calendar. It is a day of atonement, penitence, reflection and prayer. Jewish holy days start at sundown the day before and end at sundown the day of the holiday or holy day. The closest Christan day is Ash Wednesday.