Why is phoenix arizona so hot?

Phoenix sits in a valley surrounded by mountains, which leads to an updraft of heat, rain, and clouds that can't make it inside of the valley. causing higher air pressure to build up, and keeping the clouds away. No rain, means no humidity to absorb heat, so the dry air heats up faster.