What does x. v. stand for?

x and v are roman numerals and when written x v mean 15. x equals 10 and v equals 5. x x v would be 25. I is also a roman numeral and stands for 1. So I I I would be 3. When a lesser number is placed before a larger number it indicates that many less then, or I v is 4, 1 less than v.