How long does it take to be a doctor?

Doctors must complete a four-year undergraduate program, along with four years in medical school and three to seven years in a residency program to learn the specialty they chose to pursue. In other words, it takes between 10 to 14 years to become a fully licensed doctor.

---

11 - 16 years to become a practicing physician. 8 years to earn an MD and technically be a doctor. Becoming a doctor in the U.S. typically takes four years of college, four years of medical school and three to seven years of residency, possibly followed by a fellowship of one year or longer.