Why do people get swollen feet?

Most cases of foot swelling occur as a result of certain lifestyle factors, such as being overweight or sedentary. Excess body mass can decrease blood circulation, causing fluid to build up in the feet, legs, and ankles. Standing or sitting for long periods can also result in swelling.