What is this song yellow submarine about?

There is no way of knowing for sure what the song yellow submarine is about, but in context we can glean a general idea. Yellow submarine was written in the sixties amidst the cold war, by a survivor of Beatlemania, it is a chummy, insulated perspective of being safe in a fantasy world.