Are beans a good source of protein?

Yes. Most beans provide between 29-36% of the Daily Value for protein per cup cooked. Boiled soybeans (or edamame) provide 63% DV. Beans and legumes high in protein include soybeans, lentils, white beans, cranberry beans, split peas, pinto beans, kidney beans, black beans, navy beans, and limas.